Bullet Journal

How I use my bujo

So, as a mom, a student and a person with my own interests, my schedule can get crazy. After all, 2 kids and school and work and trying to find time to decompress is a lot. And then there’s keeping up with all the chores that have to be done around the house. And the lists of things in my brain that don’t stay in there because of all the stuff for work.

I started with the idea of a bullet journal just to keep track of the lists of things in my head. I mean, it’s easy for me to forget things, especially things that are long range planning or so far in the future that they were getting forgotten about in my Erin Condren planner. I do like the Erin Condren planners but they just weren’t working for me anymore. So my original plan was to keep my schedule in the EC planner and keep lists in the bullet journal.

Except that wasn’t working. I loved decorating my EC planner but the setup wasn’t working for me. There wasn’t enough room for lists on each week but there was a lot of space that seemed wasted. That’s when I decided to use the bullet journal as my planner. Yes, that’s one of those silly things because a bullet journal was designed to be a planner. I just didn’t think I needed to use it that way. I’m on my second weekly spread and so far it’s working far better than I thought it would. Now right now, I’m not doing daily spreads because I don’t need that much space for a day and a lot of things that I do aren’t tied to a specific day. The weekly works well enough for things that are day specific and gives me plenty of space to create task lists for the week.

I’d been following along on BohoBerry for quite some time, and liked some of the things that she does. Right now, I’m seeing how the time bar works out. It’s giving me an idea of how much unplanned time I have in a day to do other tasks. I have a future log (but not a Calendex!) that goes out 6 months. Honestly, I don’t have anything planned out further than that right now so that’s working. My weekly spread has a column for time sensitive things (like class) and a second column for tasks that need to get done at some point (like laundry). I also have a general task list for things that need to get done as soon as I can (like depositing a check in the bank) and a section for next week things to keep in mind (like getting the oil changed in the car).

I have my menu on the spread as well, so I know what’s for dinner every day. I’ve been toying with the idea of creating daily meal spreads for each meal so I know ahead of time exactly what I’m planning. I need to have enough flexibility to change though because we all know sometimes you’re just craving something else.I’ve been using PaperMate Flair pens and a Zig Ball 0.5 archival black pen. I’m thinking about getting some Tombows but I don’t know. I have a lot of stuff to use up from the EC planner too. The minimalist in me is needing to make sure I don’t buy something just because everybody else has them. And a lot of people do seem to have Tombows, so I’ve added them to my wish list.

I’ve also been using the planner to think about blog posts, so I have ideas for when I have writer’s block. Hopefully that makes things flow. I’ll keep you updated on how the bullet journal continues to work for me.

TTFN!

Leave a Reply

