Minimalism

30 day challenge – minimize makeup!

Oh my gosh! I went into this challenge thinking that it wouldn’t happen. I thought a couple of things might get tossed. How wrong I was! I got rid of a bunch of things that I don’t use or won’t use again and managed to get rid of another storage system. Ok, I’ll be honest. I moved everything into a smaller system but that’s the key right? So now instead of a set of storage drawers, I have a bag. I have 1 primer, 2 foundations, 1 powder, 1 blush, 1 bronzer, 1 highlight, 6 eyeshadows, 3 eyeliners, 1 mascara and a few lip colors (I forgot to count) and 4 lipliners. With the exceptions of the primer and foundations all of it fits into the bag I now have along with the brushes. I got rid of some brushes too. Seriously, I went from this:img_2386

to this:

img_2385

Yes, that plastic set of drawers used to sit where that little bag now sits. I moved a few things into the medicine cabinet but that’s decreasing in quantity too. I got rid of all this:

img_2381

Actually, there was a little more than that but honestly, I never would have thought I could do that. But I did. Now I don’t have to pack my makeup to travel. It’s already packed (except for that foundation)! I think that I can eventually get everything into the one bag, which would be great. I’m almost there now. You never know what you can do, right? Seriously, give minimalism a try. It’s so nice to not have as much stuff around and to be able to find everything that I need without digging through drawers and storage containers. I still don’t ever think that I will be living out of a backpack with 50 items to my name but I would love to know that I can pack up my stuff and travel and not have to worry about what I forgot or left behind.

Leave a Reply

