Fitness, Healthy Eating

Progress can be slow but it’s worth it

Today I went to see if I could find a pair of jeans that I love. I have 2 pairs. One is too big and the other I don’t really love. However, until I get a pair that I love I am hanging onto these as good enough. This doesn’t really fit with the decluttering view of keeping only things that bring joy to you. Practicality though, dictated that I keep them. I need some jeans. So anyway, I went to Target to try on some jeans. I didn’t see any that I loved but I figured I’d try some on to see how they fit. And I fit in a size 6. A 6 people! I was floored. They fit perfectly. You could have picked my jaw up off the floor. So I didn’t buy any jeans because there was nothing I saw that made me fall in love but I was over the moon about the fact that I fit in a smaller size. When I was in college, I wore a 14 most of the time. Before I had my kids, I was in a 12. I’ve never been smaller than that really. After I started running (about 5 years ago) I dropped to a 10 and I thought that would be the smallest I would get. After all, I’m 40 and we all know that as you age it gets harder to lose weight. It can be done though and I am proof. I still want to lose 18 pounds, so hopefully I lose another size in the process. That’s not my goal but it really feels good to see that happen.

Today, I added some meditation to my yoga. After I did my 20 minutes of yoga, I sat for a couple of minutes. While 2 minutes is nothing to some people, I was proud of what I did. I will work on increasing the length of time but just getting started was important to me. I also picked up some more meatless options. I’m hoping to cut back another two days of no meat for a total of 3 a week. I’m not cutting out meat on moral objections, although I do think that animals should be treated well. I am cutting out meat to try and decrease my carbon footprint. This process has been part of my overall goal and I am hopeful that I will get it down with more time. Eventually, I may be able to move to a place with better public transit and decrease my footprint even more but for now, this is a start.

As an aside, I went to the library the other day and picked up Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up. I figured I should read the book that is the inspiration behind so many other people. I don’t expect it to change anything drastically but I am curious to read it. I have gotten quite a bit in and while it is interesting to read her history, I’m not drastically changed yet. I also borrowed Elizabeth Gilbert’s Big Magic. I read Eat Pray Love a while ago and I enjoyed it. I am hopeful that her new book inspires me as much as the first book. I follow her Facebook page and I enjoy that so again, I’m hopeful for good things.

So good people, have a wonderful tomorrow and TTFN!

Leave a Reply

