Bucket List

The Great Bucket List

Several years ago, I wrote a bucket list. Things I wanted to do, obviously. Unfortunately, at the time, I was in the midst of my own personal hell (otherwise known as my former job) and managed to do a total of none of them. I rediscovered the list several months ago and began rethinking it and whether I wanted to do those things. My decision was that yes, I really did want to do those things, so I put the list in my bullet journal. Now, this post is not about that whole list and everything on it. It’s not a real long list (although it’ll probably get longer) but all of the things on it are do-able. At least, I think they are. But there is one that gives me reason to pause. I don’t know what to do with it. It’s the first thing on the list actually (well, the first thing on the original list).

#1. Write a book

Yup, that’s what it said. I don’t know what to do with this. Here’s why. I originally thought about writing a book when I was 15 years old. That was a long time ago and I’m sure at the time I had a lot of ideas. I never started anything. Or if I did, it was long ago tossed. I certainly never finished anything. In fact, every few years, I get an idea in my head. The ideas never make it to paper though. Part of that is because I don’t feel like I’m a good writer. I don’t spell well (thank heaven for spell checkers!) and my grammar is questionable at times. I know I was taught all the rules of grammar, I just don’t always know how to apply them. Sometimes between my spelling and my grammar, my language skills are questionable at best. This should not be a reflection on my teachers. They did a fantastic job. That lack of skill is all on me. I digress. I don’t think I’m a good writer.

The irony of that statement is this blog. Here I sit, writing. It’s a different kind of writing though. I have virtually no audience, all of whom are friends of mine and not going to tear apart my terrible English language skills. If I had a larger audience, I would likely be more hesitant to write as much. There’s no intent here either, other than to share my life. If I spell a word wrong along the way, so be it. Writing a book is a whole other task and one that is also likely to never find an audience. I’m a realist… possibly even a pessimist about what it takes to get a book published. There are millions of people who fancy themselves authors and never get a book published.

However, the list said to write the book, not to get it published. So good readers, after some thought, I have decided to throw caution to the wind and say, why not. Occasionally, you may find yourself reading snippets of story because I feel like writing story instead of blog. I promise, I will try to make it interesting. There’s no schedule here and no deadline. I simply want to see if I can get an entire story written, from start to finish. I have an idea. It’s a mystery. It’s also a bit supernatural. It’s a pretty silly idea, honestly. However, I’m not going to let my fear of being unable to do something keep me from doing it. At least, not this particular thing (some things fear tells us not to do and we should listen). So, be gentle should you find yourself reading something ridiculous. I never claimed to be good at this.

I hope that everybody has a fantastic week and I’ll be back tomorrow with more craziness. Who know what I’ll come up with for tomorrow. Until then wonderful people!

1 thought on “The Great Bucket List”

Leave a Reply

