Bucket List, Life, Nursing School

What’s after nursing school?

This is the question, right? I mean, all this time in school needs to lead somewhere. The ultimate question is where. I’ve alluded to this before. At it’s heart is a question of where my strengths lie and how I can best grow as a person and help others. This is no easy question to answer. After all, there are a few things that could be affected by this decision. And it’s also not all about working although that’s the most important point. It’s also a question of where I want to continue my education and what I want to do later on in my life.

I’ll answer the work question first. It’s actually the place where I feel like I have the most options. I have almost always worked with kids of varying ages. I started babysitting when I was 14 years old. While I was in college I became a lifeguard and taught swim lessons to preschoolers. After college, I spent some time as an after school counselor. Then of course, I spent 12 years as a high school science teacher. Clearly, kids are my forte. I already know a lot about children and I enjoy working with them. My thoughts in regard to nursing are in the same vein. I want to work in pediatrics in some way. Whether that’s a PICU or a regular floor in a children’s hospital, I don’t know yet but I feel like that’s where I’m going to be most comfortable. I have also given thought to a labor and delivery unit as I really enjoyed the time I spent on that unit for clinicals. I’ll have to spend some time thinking on it and looking at job options once I get closer to finishing.

Then there is the question of more education. I know that I need to get a BSN. This is my personality but also due to the fact that many employers prefer that degree. So working towards that is going to happen no matter what. I also am considering after that point though. There are a lot of possible avenues there. I could get a master’s that would allow me to teach or one that would allow me to be a nurse practitioner. Both of those options are appealing for different reasons. The ultimate answer may come after I’ve worked for awhile and figured out whether my strengths lie in a classroom as they have before or if they lie in a clinical setting. I may need to consider whether I want a master’s in a pediatric field (for example pediatric nurse practitioner) which may have more limited options in this area. Whether the option to do that online exists, I don’t know because I haven’t looked that far ahead yet. Knowing myself as I do, however, it is very likely that I’ll get a master’s degree eventually.

Then there’s the issue of my bucket list. One of the things on that list is to get a doctorate degree. I know that I am academically capable of that but again, the question of what that degree would be in comes up. That’s a question that I obviously don’t need to answer right this minute but I do need to be able to answer eventually.

Right now, I suppose that I really need to take a deep breath and keep my eyes focused on the immediate. The list of reading that was emailed today for the first unit in summer classes. We start with immunity, a topic that I am very interested in although I struggled with it somewhat the last time we addressed it. That seems to be a trend with me to some extent – areas that I struggle with are sometimes some of my favorite. Maybe because of the challenge that they present. Either way, I will likely look at those readings tomorrow and see what they look like. Some of the sections are short but others are entire chapters so there’s a good bit of reading. Every time, a little bit more. One foot in front of the other.

Reminder to myself… I still need to do the remediation for my Kaplan assessment for last class. I may go back and do those tomorrow as well. At least it’s short.

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Leave a Reply

