Nursing School

First day back

Today, my classmates and I officially became senior nursing students. It’s a little odd to go from freshman to senior but when you’re in a two year program, it’s what happens. I was glad to be back because the waiting just makes me apprehensive. I get more nervous thinking about all the possibilities and the what-ifs that could happen. Then I get into class and it’s never as bad as I thought. This semester is also an adjustment for me because for the first two semesters of our program, we’ve had the same teachers. I got used to how they taught and got comfortable with their testing and lecture styles. Now, there are new teachers that I’ve not had before. That makes me uncomfortable, although to be fair, our first teacher is someone we’ve had before. I also love her, which helps. A lot.

The new material is a mixed bag, I think. Some of this may not be as hard as I thought while other pieces may be much more difficult. It remains to be seen what that will mean for my test grades. Several times already, the things I enjoyed the most and thought I understood well were areas that I struggled with on tests. That frustrates me but I have decided to not stress about that and simply learn what I can and move on. I continue to learn and fix errors that I made before and I think that’s one of the most important parts.

I had a smile this weekend at work because several of the people I work with are getting ready to start a nursing program. I remember that feeling all to well. Seeing others stress about it, trying to get all their paperwork in order and wondering what it’s really going to be like makes me feel better about where I am. I kept reminding them that they’ll do ok if they just keep working at it. Purposefully moving forward. That might be my new mantra for the semester. Moving forward. I need to decorate my notebook with my motivational quotes.

I put a sticker on the front of my bullet journal to remind myself to not stress to much – Positive Mind, Positive Vibes, Positive Life. Last semester I really saw a difference in how I felt when I stopped stressing and just kept reminding myself that I could do this and I was doing the best I could.

So if you’re starting a new semester or a new part of your life, try to remember that. Keep working, as hard as you can and you will eventually get there.

“I am a great believer in luck. The harder I work, the more luck I have.” -Coleman Cox

Leave a Reply

