Uncategorized

Summer Vacation?

So, I have class this summer until the middle of July, so there is a month and a half in front of me still. However, I have already begun to think about what to do with the time from the middle of July until the middle of August when I won’t have school. I know, it’s a novel idea, not having school for about a month. I also took a whole weekend off from work. I had more than enough time saved and so I asked and I got it and I am thrilled. That means I have almost two weeks with no responsibilities except my kids. And hey, camp is paid for the summer so if I really want to, I can have all that time to myself.

Who am I kidding? I won’t send my kids to camp the whole time. Part of it, sure because otherwise, they’ll be bored. So what’s the plan for all this free time that I’ll have? That, my friends, is a fantastic question.

The short answer is I don’t really know.

Y’all probably want the longer answer though, huh? So my thoughts are varied. The kids have asked to go to the beach. I’m not crazy about the cost to go to the beach though. I mean, if we could even find a place. I have entertained the idea of camping at the beach. That may be a more workable idea. I also have thought about going to Carowinds for the day. I have also thought about going to Atlanta for a weekend or a couple of days.

I have also given thought to reading as much as possible. I could try to get through some of the book is have sitting in my to be read list. There aren’t many that I already own that I need to read but there are considerably more that I want to read that I don’t own. How many could I get through? No idea. Probably not all of the ones that I own, so the others are probably less likely. Also I have committed to not buying anymore books until I read the ones I have. I have to get anything I don’t own from the library and right now I don’t know what they have that I want to read. I did get a copy of A Court of Thorns and Roses, which I am interested in but is also a series and this is the only book in the series that I saw in the library. This could be problematic. Again, time will tell.

The pool is also a good option for spending time over the summer. It would be nice to head to the pool with a friend of mine and just chill. So there are my thoughts. I will work on my blog during that time, obviously and I may try some more writing since I’ll have more time. I still have ideas that are not on paper and need to be. This summer class is not the time to devote to writing but I may be able to in the fall, so NaNoWriMo is a possibility.

I will of course, update, once I have more definite ideas. I will probably start thinking about more definite plans in the next couple of weeks. I have this week and next week to finish this class and then we start the second course (another four week course). Once I get through the first final, I will probably think about plans. Almost there.

As a quick update, the first week of clinical went ok. It was the first time we didn’t have prep time before clinical and jumped right in. I thought it was not good but my instructor said I did fine, so clearly I am being to hard on myself again. Deep breath, right?

For now, I am off to some yoga and then need to study because we have a test tomorrow. Wish me luck and I will talk with you all tomorrow. Have courage and be kind.

Leave a Reply

