Fitness, Healthy Eating

On starting over with running

I started running in 2010, the fall after my daughter was born. She is now seven but I have to say that I had a stretch where I didn’t run. I would make excuses for why I couldn’t but at least a part of it was an overwhelming depression that came from my job. That’s not an excuse because I should have still worked at it. But I didn’t. I ran a half marathon in 2012, nearly five years ago now. By now, I had hoped to run a full marathon. Instead I find myself almost starting over.

I know that running makes me feel better. It’s evident to me after a run when I can still smile even when I feel like I’m wiped out. It’s evident to me in the fact that I keep looking for time to do it even though my schedule looks like a jigsaw puzzle of trying to find time. It’s evident to me that I have started looking at articles about running again. I am starting to feel that old drive of wanting to find a partner to run with. I’m pretty slow and have yet to find someone who can run with me.

(An aside… Anyone interested? I run an eleven minute mile, consistently for up to four miles.)

This time, however, I have a new appreciation for what I need to feed my body in order to run my best. I have eliminated the processed food almost entirely. I still eat processed food – I love some cheese-its – but I have replaced most of the convenience, easy to make foods with real food. Actual fruits and vegetables, real meat (when I eat it), real pasta or potatoes. It’s amazing how much better real food tastes and how quickly your tastes for food changes. Food I never would have eaten before, I now enjoy eating. I have been working very hard to be careful with how much I eat out. When I started nursing school, I would often eat fast food after class. Now I come home and eat actual food. In fact, I got some mozzarella sticks from Sonic the other day and they were not as good as I had hoped. I do love me some cheese and fried cheese is still amazing but it just wasn’t as good as I thought it would be.

I think that I’m in a good place. Will I ever get faster? Maybe. Does it matter? Not really, anymore. It’s a goal but it’s not a priority, if that makes sense. I know that there are other things I can do to build strength and speed. For example, lifting weights has done wonders for my running. So while I don’t really like it, the way I love to run,  try to do it at least twice a week so that I don’t lose any of the strength I’ve built up. I need to get back into my yoga, to keep my muscles stretched. I’ve noticed that some of my muscles will get very tight the day after running. I’m sure yoga would help that. Another run helps too, but that’s a short term fix.

So, that’s it for today. Give running a try. Keep an open mind. It’s not going to be easy at first but if you keep at it, you may be surprised at how you feel and what you can accomplish. And remember, it’s about health. Do something everyday to make yourself a little more healthy. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

