Books, Life

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

So, just for fun, I thought I’d do a book review. This is mostly inspired by the fact that this series is one that has me enraptured and I can read quickly but I still want to reread. Now, I am keeping in mind that the series is incomplete and there are three more books that are supposed to be written. Also, I haven’t read the third book yet and I’m not done processing the second. Bear with me.

The book strikes me as one that is well thought out. I’ve read plenty of books that had a storyline but it didn’t seem very well thought out. Mostly, I feel that way when weird things start happening that seem out of place or the author just seems to be adding on to the story for the heck of it. This first book has a feeling of purpose – the story is going somewhere. The characters also seem to be well thought out, with backstories that are consistent and don’t change wildly from book to book. That is also something that I’ve seem happen and drives me crazy. The author seems to know her characters and her world, which makes the story always seem to follow a path.

I liked the characters a lot. There are more books with women as the main character now but there are still fewer than should be. It took me awhile to determine that the narrator is female but it’s nice to heat the story from her point of view. It’s also crucial to the story that we hear it from her pov, but it’s always wonderful to read a female lead who isn’t a damsel in distress and doesn’t act like a frilly girl. Feyre is definitely strong and determined and not afraid to fight when she has to which is nice. Now, the story does revolve around a relationship but it doesn’t progress in a typical way which is nice.

The world the story is written in is also really detailed. I got the impression that the author knew a lot more about her world than she needed to for writing her story. That always makes the story more interesting. Authors tend to drop in details that have nothing to do with the overarching story arc but still makes the story more interesting which is fun.

As a brief description, the first book introduces Feyre who ends up being taken to the fairy world after an incident (I don’t want to give away what happens if you decide to read it, so I apologize if this is vague). Feyre is a human and is terrified of fairies. The story follows somewhat of a Beauty and the Beast arch, where there is a spell that needs to be broken. The fairies are well written and very interesting. Feyre meets several different kinds of fairies and they all help her move forward in her discovery of what is actually going on. There is a lot of confusion in the writing since Feyre doesn’t actually know what’s going on and it’s told from her perspective. That allows you to learn about the world as Feyre does which is always interesting. The ending of the first book is what you would expect but it leads into the second book (A Court of Mist and Fury) which does not go the way you anticipate – or at least, I didn’t. The third book is out but I haven’t gotten it from the library yet so I don’t know where this part of the story goes.

Originally the books were a trilogy so I don’t know how the next set of three will play into the story but I will probably read the fourth one and see how the story goes from the end of the third book.

I just thought I’d throw this out there since I had some unexpected extra time today. I hope everyone has a great week and I’ll be back with regular type stuff tomorrow. Until then!

Leave a Reply

